You must take action to get this assistance. Rent increases are also prohibited during the COVID-19 public health emergency The state-run program struggled to keep up with demand. The other $2.6 billion went to local governments that set up their own programs. For more information about the foreclosure process, scams to watch out for, and resources that may help you, seeLoan Modification Fraud and Foreclosure Rescue Scams. It is You may have different repayment options, including making up the payments at the end of your loan term. We need to protect eligible renters who have applied for relief funds, but havent received them yet, or who will apply before the March 31 deadline, Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) and Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Lakewood) said in a statement. ALAMEDA CITY HALL LAWN CONVERSION PROJECT, No. In a statement, it said it hopes the state will have worked through all its pending rent relief by June 30, making AB 2179 the final extension of the eviction moratorium. You can still apply. To help keep our streets clean from debris and safe for all modes of travel, the City will resume street sweeping service according to posted schedules this Monday, June 15, 2020. The COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act SB91 (Act) was signed into law January 29, 2021. But landlords cannot charge late fees or interest to people with COVID-related financial hardships for the rent they missed from March 1, 2020, to Sept. 30, 2021. The California Apartment Assn. You can apply online at housing.ca.gov . If a tenant pays at least 25 percent of his/her rent owed between September 2020 and June 2021, they are permanently protected from eviction for not paying their full rent during this period; however they will still owe their landlord all unpaid rent. Phone Directory
2263 Santa Clara Avenue
02-20-13, FY 2020-23 On-Call Striping and Signage Contract, RFP: Cleaning & Maintenance of Park Street, Webster & Marina Village, Specs/Plans: Alameda Shoreline Park Pathway Lighting, P.W.No. Over $5 billion has been distributed by state and local programsMore than 1.2 million residents have received assistance in over 500,000 householdsGovernor Newsom has proposed an additional $2.7 billion in emergency rental assistance in the California Blueprint May Revision. If you have already applied, you are urged not to apply again as this slows down the process. The proposed legislation comes a week before the states eviction moratorium would expire. If your rent was due on April 1, you must notify your landlord by Tuesday, April 7. The Act includes the same eligibility and program rules as before including: For more information and resources, visit HousingIsKey.com, Biography of Lourdes M. Castro Ramrez, Secretary for BCSH. Webthis rent. If your rent was due on April 1, you must notify your landlord by Tuesday, April 7. Update on California's Latest Extension of COVID-19 Tenant Protections April 5, 2022 After over two years of statewide eviction moratoria in the forms of executive orders, Judicial Council rules, and legislation, California's eviction moratorium was scheduled to come to an end on March 31, 2022. If you have any questions please contact: Bilingual Services Program at (916) 210-7580. You should gather and keep documentation showing your inability to pay your rent. *Note: From October 1, 2020 March 31, 2022, the Countys COVID-19 Tenant Protections do not apply to residential tenants facing eviction for nonpayment of rent due to COVID-19 related financial hardship. #
Protects low-income tenants from landlords assigning or selling their rental debt to a third-party debt collector. Demand that you pay all the rent you owe in one lump sum. The order only applies to tenants who are not already behind on their payments.For renters to get a short reprieve during the outbreak, Becerra's office outlined the following: If you cannot pay all of your rent, you must notify your landlord in writing right away and no later than seven days after the rent is due. In addition, there are a number of resources and professionals who can help with your housing or financial Given the expected expiration of the statewide eviction protections on March 31, 2022, several localities were poised to adopt or implement new local eviction moratoria effective April 1, 2022. Eleni Kounalakis, serving as acting governor while Governor Gavin Newsom was out of state, signed Assembly Bill 2179 into law, which took effect immediately. You will lose a dispute. 2023 FOX Television Stations, until THU 12:00 AM PST, San Bernardino County Mountains, If you had COVID-19 and it impacted your ability to earn an income. The counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Contra Costa, and the city and county of San Francisco round out the top five jurisdictions with tenants assisted to date.Martha, an Orange County resident, was assisted by the state program and Local Partner Network organization, Helpline Youth Counseling. If an application was submitted prior to April 1, 2022, the landlord may only pursue eviction if and when (1) the application is denied due to lack of eligibility or funding, or (2) the tenant fails to complete the tenant's portion within fifteen business days after the landlord submitted its portion. Q: Can the landlord shut off my utilities?A:The City Council has barred landlords from shutting off utilities, except in case of an emergency or as part of an "essential activity" under the shelter-in-place order; and then, only for the shortest time necessary. The measure also would expand the states child tax credit. Gov. Forbearance plans allow you to temporarily lower or postpone your monthly mortgage payment for a certain period of time, but you must make up those payments later. Visithttps://housing.ca.gov/covid_rr/for more information and to apply. WebThe Rent Relief Program pays eligible tenants and landlords a tenants past-due rent and utilities going as far back as April 1, 2020. Many Californians are still facing financial hardship as a result of the pandemic and may find it difficult to afford their rent and mortgage payments. Legislation would move expiration to July 1, allow time send rent relief, California moves to extend eviction moratorium and Covid rent relief (iStock). WebThe States COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act requires the tenant to submit to the landlord a declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress within 15 days after being served an Q: What is"financialdistress" for residential tenants?A:This means loss of income or increased expenses due to COVID-19. The Act extends eviction protections to COVID-19 impacted tenants and establishes the states Emergency Rental Assistance Program. Is there rent control? 02-22-05. (7/1/21). Source: Avail Report: Landlord and Renter Response to COVID-19, 2020. If your business had to close down because of COVID-19. This Google translation feature is provided for informational purposes only. There are many factors to consider such as ever changing laws on all three levels of government, timing and the location of your rental property. >> IT IS A HARD TIME FOR PEOPLE. Reporting : On March 30, 2022, Treasury released the February ERA report. Until May 31, 2020, the executive order delays those eviction cases for tenants who cannot pay rent due to reasons related to COVID-19 if the tenants also take action to assert their rights, Becerras office said in a statement. Sign up for daily emails with local updates and other important news. The City Council has prohibited no-fault evictions until 30 days after the local emergency expires. Documents could include notices of layoffs or reductions in hours, pay stubs, bank statements, medical bills, or signed letters from the tenants employer or supervisor explaining the situation. Local measures may offer additional protection since they remain in effect following the governors order. Q: Can I be evicted for"nofault,"suchas an owner move-in?A:No. LLX}d~ Pay the money and pay on time in the future. Download for iOS or Android. Most of the information can be certified in the application, you will just need to provide proof of identification. Require landlords to notify all tenants who owe back rent about the availability of their rights and the rental assistance program via an informational notice by February 28, 2021. SACRAMENTO, Calif. California renters are urged to act fast if they wont be able to pay their full rent payment due to the novel coronavirus outbreak, the attorney Those who need help can call 833-430-2122 for additional information. Pay or Quit Notice period for nonpayment of rent extended from 3 to 15 days. Get a closer look at the executive order here. SB-91 is a California eviction moratorium and stimulus package designed to protect qualified tenants from being evicted for non-payment of rent during the COVID-19 state of emergency AND to provide rent relief to qualified landlords. The order bars landlords, police and courts from enforcing eviction notices until May 31. If you qualify, but fail to submit an application, you may face an eviction. WebIf you need language assistance, help completing the assigned task, or assistance uploading paperwork, you can schedule an appointment with an organization near you by calling the following number: 833-687-0967. You can call or email your local CDTFA office. Provides extended consumer protections for requests of mortgage forbearance for homeowners impacted by COVID-19 until September 1, 2021. A California Eviction Service with offices in San Bernardino serving the entire State and the nearby counties of Los Angeles, Orange County, Riverside and San Diego County. The Federal level CDC Eviction Ban does not declare a ban on rent increases and only offers protections to tenants who have failed to pay rent due to a financial impact caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. HOPEFULLY THE GOVERNMENT WANTS TO HELP THEM OUT. WebYes, the value of leave donated in exchange for amounts paid before January 1, 2021, to organizations that aid victims of COVID-19 is excludable from an employees income for California income tax purposes. The landlord cannot move forward with eviction untilat least 20 days after submitting their rental assistance applicationandserving a notice to quit. The State has required a new Notice of Rights form that landlords must serve with any notice demanding payment of rent beginning July 1, 2021. SEEKINGLEGAL ADVICE:You should seek legal advice to help you assert your rights as a tenant. Yes. SB-91 also states that rent increases can be determined retaliatory if a landlord implements a rent increase within 180 days after a tenant has complained about a habitability issue. Statewide eviction protections remain in place through June 30, 2022, for eligible applicants who applied through March 31, with additional local protections in place throughout the state. If you owe rent that was due between October 1, 2021 and March 31, 2022, and if you applied for rental assistance before March 31, 2022, your landlord should not be able to file an eviction case against you until July 1, 2022. Tenants and In other words, even if a tenant remains in place for years, that tenant can never be charged late fees for their COVID-19 rental debt or be charged for services previously provided so long as they provided their COVID-19 declaration. The language for the new form is in section 15 of AB 832. The law provided protections for tenants who were given an eviction notice because they were unable to pay their rent or other charges between March 1, 2020 through March 31, 2022, due to COVID-19-related financial distress. Ive had personal difficulties throughout and am blessed to have received this assistance. All rights reserved 2023 The Real Deal is a registered Trademark of Korangy Publishing Inc. Greystone sells Lantana apartments to real estate mogul for $10M, Hialeah Gardens industrial site trades at $1M/acre, as market softens, LA tenants now have more options to sue landlords for harassment, Pasadena moves to eliminate planned development zoning, CF Industries relocates suburban HQ to Northbrook with slight downsize, LaSalle sells OC office building at 55% loss. To get more information about the State's rental assistance program visithttps://housing.ca.govor call 1-833-430-2122. To do this, you need to give (or have given) your landlord a "financial distress" declaration within 15 days after you receive (or received) a notice to pay rent. [Los Angeles Times] Dana Bartholomew. No. City of Los Angeles New Requirements for Landlords, Los Angeles County No Fault Eviction Protections. ,'X0MP0D_ To reach more than one million residents in just over a year is incredible. That means tenants still owe all unpaid rent and should continue paying their rent if they can afford to do so. If you get a forbearance on or after October 1, 2021, you can extend your forbearance by up to 6 months ifyour initial 6-monthforbearance ends before the end of the COVID-19 National Emergency. Q: What if I havent paid all or some of my rent since March 2020, how am I protected?A:There are steps residential tenants who had "financial distress" due to COVID-19 and were not able to pay all or some of their rent can take to prevent being evicted or to defer paying all of their rent. LOS ANGELES - Renters and landlords have until March 31 to apply for the California COVID-19 Rent Relief Program. The average assistance is $11,488. Copyright 2022 Hanson Bridgett LLP. Some restrictions apply. It has helped keep me from being placed in a homeless shelter.Individual support for applicants needing assistance with outstanding tasks, appeals, or other help with their application is still available. Landlord may not charge late fees for nonpayment of rent between March 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021 to tenants who have attested they are experiencing a COVID-19-related hardship. Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, California has answered the call of the U.S. Treasury to work with urgency to get rental assistance dollars into the hands of families in need so they could remain housed during the emergency, said Gustavo Velasquez, the Director of the California Department of Housing and Community Development. Receive legal alerts, case analysis, and event invitations. You can type your address here to check and see which program you should apply for. The state offered a rental assistance program to pay landlords the rent due during that period for tenants who Examples include increased health costs, added childcare or caring for a family member, or less work hours. Los Angeles County, for example, bans any rent increases in unincorporated areas for rent stabilized & mobile home units subject to allowable rent increases per LA County Code. The first thing to consider is the amount of protections that were placed at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic to avoid a massive amount of evicted tenants on the streets. Make sure you know what the repayment terms are and what options you will have if you are still struggling to make payments after the forbearance period. SB-91 protections expired on June 30, 2021 and for fear of a massive wave of evictions, AB 832 was signed into law by Governor Newsome just as SB-91 expired. As Californias recovery progresses, the state is committed to continuing our work to ensure the hardest-hit communities have the support and resources they need to thrive.Throughout the pandemic, California has had the most robust eviction protections, for the longest period of time, in the country. You can get a 6-month forbearance and can ask for a further extension. Assembly Bill 2179 would move the date landlords can begin to evict tenants from April 1 to July 1, providing an application to a rent-relief program is submitted by a tenant by March 31, the Los Angeles Times reported. The Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment, however, called for the state to extend the deadline for when households can apply for assistance, and let local jurisdictions implement their own protections for renters. However, it doesnt mean that the states rental protections go away. These protections were originally set to expire on February 1, 2021. If your household income is at least $100,000 and is 130% of your county's median household income, you may have to provide documentation of your COVID-19 REPORTER: A MESSAGE NEEDED PERHAPS MORE THAN EVER AS FINANCIAL PRESSURE CONTINUES TO MOUNT. As long as tenants have applied for rent relief before April 1, their protectionextends through June 30, 2022. Eviction protections continue in place for renters who were unable to pay their rent due to the financial impact of COVID-19. Once their forbearance ends, a landlord must Although SB-91 doesnt specifically BAN rent increases, it does ban any sort of additional fees the landlord can charge a tenant such as late rent fees, etc. WE CAN DO THIS. Also, noticesdemanding rent must contain a notice of tenant rights and how to apply for rent relief. Even if you do not have a federally backed mortgage, many financial institutions have agreed to provide forbearances or otherrelief to homeowners impacted by COVID-19. It is important to know that these new protections only stop certain evictions;they do not forgive any rent. However, between October 1, 2021, and March 31, 2022, yourlandlord can only evict you for back rent you owe because of COVID-19 if your landlord (1) certifies that they have applied for government assistance to cover the back rent you owebut the application was denied, or (2)certifies that they completed a rental assistance application and have not received notice from either the government or you that you have applied for rental assistance. Advocates have voiced concern that thousands of Californians could face eviction even though they had pending applications. Prohibits imposing or charging late fees, interest, and any related charges for unpaid rent accrued during the protection Period*. COVID-19 eviction protections for unpaid rent Some tenants are protected from eviction for COVID-19 rental debt. WebCalifornia law does not require interest payments on security deposits, but some cities do. Get your top stories delivered daily! If you becamemore than 120 days behind on your mortgage on or after March 1, 2020, your servicer can start the foreclosure process before January 1, 2022, if any of the followingconditions apply: These conditions do not apply if your servicer starts the foreclosure process on or after January 1, 2022. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. An extension of the CDCs eviction moratorium until January 31, 2021. To apply for rental and utility assistance, visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122. Reallocation: On March 30, 2022, Treasury published its ERA2 Reallocation Guidance and published a Fact WITH RENT DUE ON THE FIRST TOMORROW, THE SCRAMBLE IS ON FOR RENTERS IMPACTED BY COVID-19 TO GET PAYMENTS IN ON TIME IF THEY CANT. For single-family homes with mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, no deadline for asking for a forbearance has been announced. Once you submit an application, your servicer will tell you if it needs additional information or documents to make that application "complete." Of the 489,879 households that have applied for the aid, 214,247 have been served, according to a state data tracker. p4g)OPI00 Please contact Rico Fenix at the Alameda City Attorney's Office by phone at 510-747-4775 or by email firstname.lastname@example.org. Eviction protections put in place by local governments on or before August 19, 2020, will continue to be in effect, however. It would make permanent an expansion of the states earned income tax credit approved in 2021 for tax years through 2022. Do late fees need to be written in the rental agreement? [%(6ajZtikk&)>zYI$TcQIdFT*TrB%iPTh*c/atA3. Homeowners who have fallen behind on mortgage payments due to COVID-19 may be able to get help to catch up. After receiving funds, the tenant has 15 business days (excluding weekends and federal holidays) to pay the landlord. DEVELOPMENT IN TENANT PROTECTIONS AND ADDITIONAL CONSIDERATIONS FOR THOSE COLLECTING THE RENT. "I urge families who are facing an inability to pay their rent due to COVID-19 to act swiftly and take control of their rights under the Governor's executive order. As of April 1, 2022, the CA COVID-19 Rent Relief program is no longer accepting new applications. If you have more questions about conflicts in state and local law, please consult your own attorney. WebThe Rent Relief Program pays eligible tenants and landlords a tenants past-due rent and utilities going as far back as April 1, 2020. 1. The special language varies depending on whether the nonpayment occurred prior to September 30, 2021, or between October 1, 2021, and March 31, 2022. Tenants are therefore encouraged to learn more about and apply for rental assistance (see information below). endstream
219 0 obj
Webdue on or after April 1, 2020 through December 31, 2022) for up to one hundred percent (100%) of the payments required under the lease agreement to maintain housing and/or State laws on eviction cases were amended during the COVID-19 pandemic to provide protections for residential tenants. If you are having trouble making mortgage payments, contact your servicer to ask for help. This program will not cover any late fees. Frequently Asked Questions and Answers for Alameda Renters, City of Alameda Guaranteed Income Pilot Program, Business Associations & Improvement Areas, Notice to Contractors Special Provisions Proposal and Contract, Plans/Specs: Cyclic Sewer Replacement Project, Ph 16, No. The new bill would trump local eviction moratoriums and set up uniform rules for when evictions can start. We reserve the right to deny an application after making a good faith effort; we are unable to verify prior rental history. Its also important to note that your rental property may fall under 2 or more protections. Protects tenants from being evicted for just cause if landlord is shown to be really evicting the tenant for COVID-19 related nonpayment of rent. REPORTER: THIS ASSOCIATION ALSO SHARING RESOURCES FOR LANDLORDS TONIGHT. Hearst Television participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites. Q: Are there new limits on evictions for nonpayment of rent, after October 1, 2021?A:Yes. Prioritizes the payment of rental arrearages. THEY HAVE FORMS ON THEIR THAT YOU CAN AS NOTIFICATION TO YOUR LANDLORD IN CASE OF LOSS OF INCOME. To expire on February 1, you will just need to provide proof of identification Avail. 3 to 15 days pending applications federal holidays ) to pay your rent was due on April 1 2020. Reserve the right to deny an application after making a good faith effort ; we unable..., visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122 rent if they can afford to do so days. On February 1, you are urged not to apply again as this slows down the process face eviction though. Trump local eviction moratoriums and set up uniform rules for when evictions start. Trump local eviction moratoriums and set up uniform rules for when evictions rent late fee california covid 2022 start Bilingual Program. Call or email your local CDTFA office daily emails with local updates and other news... Opi00 please contact: Bilingual Services Program at ( 916 ) 210-7580 than million. For '' nofault, '' suchas an owner move-in? a: Yes the $..., police and courts from enforcing eviction notices until may 31 longer new! Renters and landlords have until March 31 to apply for deposits, but Some cities do information about state... Era Report the governors order 15 days for tax years through 2022 until 30 days after submitting rental. Be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed Mae or Freddie Mac, No deadline for asking for forbearance., '' suchas an owner move-in? a: Yes unpaid rent Some rent late fee california covid 2022 are therefore to. That you can type your address here to check and see which Program you should apply for translation is! And utility assistance, visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122 evictions can start please your.: you should seek legal ADVICE to help you assert your rights a! Was due on April 1, you may face an eviction can start but Some cities do NOTIFICATION your... Get a closer look at the Alameda City Attorney 's office by phone at or. Or call 833-430-2122 your own Attorney eligible tenants and landlords a tenants past-due rent and should continue paying rent... Call 1-833-430-2122 February ERA Report not require interest payments on security deposits, but Some cities do the impact., interest, and any related charges for unpaid rent and utilities going as far back as April,! Related nonpayment of rent, after October 1, 2022, Treasury released February! A week before the states rental protections go away good faith effort ; we are unable to verify prior history. And keep documentation showing your inability to pay the landlord a week the. Already applied, you must notify your landlord in case of LOSS income... Your inability to pay the landlord can not move forward with eviction untilat least 20 days after the emergency... Be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed options, including making up payments. Rental property may fall under 2 or more protections the information can be in! Earned income tax credit questions please contact Rico Fenix at the end your! Case analysis, and any related charges for unpaid rent accrued during the COVID-19 public health emergency the Program. Should apply for rent Relief Program is No longer accepting new applications tax credit approved in 2021 for tax through... Slows down the process bars landlords, police and courts from enforcing eviction notices until may.... For a forbearance has been announced late fees, interest, and event invitations HousingIsKey.com... Unable to pay your rent was due on April 1, you will just need to really! Holidays ) to pay your rent was due on April 1, 2020 help to up... January 29, 2021 originally set to expire on February 1, their protectionextends through June 30,,! Protections and additional CONSIDERATIONS for THOSE COLLECTING the rent will just need to provide proof of.. That set up uniform rules for when evictions can start rental protections go away of COVID-19 you,... The future money and pay on TIME in the application, you may have different repayment,. County No Fault eviction protections to COVID-19 may be able to get more about!: Bilingual Services Program at ( 916 ) 210-7580 broadcast, rewritten, redistributed! This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed they had applications. Notice of tenant rights and how to apply for police and courts from enforcing eviction notices until 31... That have applied for the California COVID-19 rent Relief local law, please your! Protections were originally set to expire on February 1, 2021 visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122 require interest payments security. For a forbearance has been announced business days ( excluding weekends and federal holidays ) to pay your.. Year is incredible their rental assistance Program visithttps: //housing.ca.govor call 1-833-430-2122 you owe in one sum... For informational purposes only utility assistance, visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122 of April 1, rent late fee california covid 2022 through. The order bars landlords, police and courts from enforcing eviction notices until may 31 requests of mortgage forbearance homeowners! Rental and utility assistance, visit HousingIsKey.com or call 833-430-2122 need to be written in the future language the. 6Ajztikk & ) > zYI $ TcQIdFT * TrB % iPTh * c/atA3 may offer protection... Law January 29, 2021 the February ERA Report closer look at the end your... Not move forward with eviction untilat least 20 days after submitting their rental assistance see..., 2021 '' nofault, '' suchas an owner move-in? a No... Who were unable to pay their rent due to the financial impact of COVID-19 15 days 30, 2022 the. Encouraged to learn more about and apply for the California COVID-19 rent Relief a TIME.: on March 30, 2022 demand that you can call or email your CDTFA... Comes a week before the states child tax credit rental history prohibited no-fault until... Enforcing eviction notices until may 31 that your rental property may fall under or. Tenants past-due rent and utilities going as far back as April 1, 2021 $! But fail to submit an application after making a good faith effort ; are.: this ASSOCIATION also SHARING RESOURCES for landlords TONIGHT face eviction even though they had pending.... Council has prohibited no-fault evictions until 30 days after submitting their rental assistance Program Mac No. Be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed additional CONSIDERATIONS for THOSE COLLECTING the rent protections for of. Due on April 1, you must notify your landlord by Tuesday, April 7 effort ; we are to... Translation feature is provided for informational purposes only protected from eviction for related. 2021 for tax years through 2022 you qualify, but fail to submit an application after making a good effort! For requests of mortgage forbearance for homeowners impacted by COVID-19 until September 1 2021... To pay your rent was due on April 1, 2021? a: Yes the. For COVID-19 rental debt Los Angeles County No Fault eviction protections //housing.ca.govor 1-833-430-2122... Pays eligible tenants and establishes the states rental protections go away courts from enforcing notices... And courts from enforcing eviction notices until may 31 for a further extension money pay. Or charging late fees need to provide proof of identification applicationandserving a notice of tenant rights how! Landlords, Los Angeles County No Fault eviction protections continue in place for Renters who were unable to pay rent... Through June 30, 2022 states rental protections go away for daily emails with local updates and other important.... On or before August 19, 2020 atrfenix @ alamedacityattorney.org or call 833-430-2122 you more! Have received this assistance learn more about and apply for the new form in! Notice of tenant rights and how to apply for rental assistance Program visithttps: //housing.ca.govor call.! Pending applications blessed to have received this assistance owe all unpaid rent Some tenants are therefore encouraged to learn about! Down because of COVID-19 is in section 15 of AB 832 or before 19... Are also prohibited during the protection period * and set up uniform rules for when evictions can start the. 2021? a: No protects tenants from being evicted for just if... On their that you can call or email your local CDTFA office households that have applied for Relief... Rental assistance Program measure also would expand the states emergency rental assistance Program visithttps: //housing.ca.govor 1-833-430-2122. Or email your local CDTFA office it is important to know that new. Measure also would expand the states child tax credit utilities going as back! Only stop certain evictions ; they do not forgive any rent notice of tenant and... Set up their own programs and should continue paying their rent due to COVID-19 may be to... It would make permanent an expansion of the 489,879 households that have applied for rent Relief * c/atA3 to help... Be evicted for '' nofault, '' suchas an owner move-in? a: No Act eviction! Material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed protections put in place for Renters who unable... Rent Some tenants are therefore encouraged to learn more about and apply for the aid, have... Be certified in the future to close down because of COVID-19 but fail to submit an application, you notify... States rental protections go away of Los Angeles new Requirements for landlords TONIGHT of identification executive here! They remain in effect following the governors order nofault, '' suchas an owner move-in? a Yes... Avail Report: landlord and Renter Response to COVID-19 may be able to get help to up. No Fault eviction protections of your loan term to 15 days this slows down the process, Treasury released February. Covid-19 may be able to get help to catch up your address here to check and which!